What is Technology Doing to Our Society?

I’m an addict. This addiction consumes my life. It affects my health. It stresses my relationships. It affects my work performance. I prefer to lay in bed and do this than get up and live my life. I would rather sit in by myself, with my addiction, than get out and socialize with other people. I constantly sneak in quick hits when around friends, during meetings, or in line at the store. My addiction isn’t drugs, alcohol, or one of the more commonly known compulsive behaviors. But, even though my behavior isn’t illegal, it may be just as harmful to my life.
My name is Jason and I’m addicted to social media. Sound familiar?
Do you find yourself relating to the struggles I admitted above? Most of our days start and end by the sound of an alarm, which are typically on our phones. Technology has never been more accessible, grab and go no matter the destination. We tote these accessories with us everywhere, it’s even hard not to bring your phone with you to the restroom. Those quality few minutes I use to pass a level of candy crush are crucial to my day. I’m basically multitasking, right? Even eating dinner is hard to enjoy without being able to scroll through Facebook.
Below is a video called “Look Up” that portrays a very realistic take on social media and the affect it has on society.

“This media we call social is anything but, when we open our computers and its our doors we shut.”


How do you reduce your social media addiction?

Next time you’re out with friends or in a social setting suggest one of the following “games”.

Phone Pile -Tell your friends everyone has to put there phone in a pile in the middle of the table The first person to reach for and grab there phone loses. Get creative with consequences. You could make them play truth or dare, pay for dinner or drinks, turn off their phone, etc.

Facebook Phone Dare – Similar to the first game, this one lets you keep your phone but if you get caught checking Facebook the person who catches you gets to choose the consequence.
As a closing thought, I’ll leave you with a quote from the “Look Up” video above. Imagine all the things you’re missing while staring at your phone.

“So look up from your phone, shut down the display, take in your surroundings, make the most of today, just one real connection is all it can take to show you the difference of being there can make.”

****Don’t forget to share this blog with your friends! See if you want to make a fun game out of it on date nights or hanging out with friends.*****

4 thoughts on “What is Technology Doing to Our Society?

  1. Pingback: 7 keys to CRUSHING your finals without being STRESSED | Daily Life University

Leave a Reply

